Monday, September 17, 2007

Led Zeppelin (kinda) new releases announced...

Once Zeppelin announced their one-off reunion gig set for the Ahmet Ertegun Education Fund benefit concert on November 26, 2007, you knew the re-issues and repackagings wouldn't be far behind. Rhino Records has announced a pair scheduled to come out just before the long awaited reunion.

Mothership is a 24 track double CD drawing songs from each of Zeppelin's studio albums. You should already have these songs, because there's really no excuse not to own all of the Zeppelin catalog, but you will get the bonus of liner notes by David Fricke. It's scheduled for release on November 13.

Track Listing:

Disc One
1. Good Times Bad Times
2. Communication Breakdown
3. Dazed And Confused
4. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
5. Whole Lotta Love
6. Ramble On
7. Heartbreaker
8. Immigrant Song
9. Since I've Been Loving You
10. Rock And Roll
11. Black Dog
12. When The Levee Breaks
13. Stairway To Heaven

Disc Two
1. Song Remains The Same
2. Over The Hills And Far Away
3. D'Yer Maker
4. No Quarter
5. Trampled Under Foot
6. Houses Of The Holy
7. Kashmir
8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
9. Achilles Last Stand
10. In The Evening
11. All My Love

Mothership website

A week later on November 20, Rhino will re-release the soundtrack to the 1976 film The Song Remains the Same. Zeppelin themselves are overseeing remixing and remastering of the original tracks plus the addition of an additional six left off in 1976. Of course it remains to be seen if the song really does remain the same or if this process has salvaged something from this surprisingly poor effort. Even if it hasn't saved it entirely, you get liner notes from no less than Cameron Crowe.

The same day, Warner Home Video will issue the DVD with all 14 songs from the original concert. It features newly remixed and remastered sound, 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound, and more than 40 minutes of added bonus material, including never-before-released performance footage of "Over The Hills And Far Away" and "Celebration Day"; plus performances of "Misty Mountain Hop" and "The Ocean"; a rare 1976 BBC interview with Robert Plant and Peter Grant; vintage TV footage from the Drake Hotel robbery during the New York concert stand; and a Cameron Crowe radio show.

Track Listing

Disc One
1. Rock And Roll
2. Celebration Day
3. Black Dog*
4. Over The Hills*
5. Misty Mountain Hop*
6. Since I've Been Loving You*
7. No Quarter
8. The Song Remains The Same
9. Rain Song
10. The Ocean*

Disc Two
1. Dazed And Confused
2. Stairway To Heaven
3. Moby Dick
4. Heartbreaker*
5. Whole Lotta Love

* Not on original soundtrack release

Labels: , ,


Blogger rock_of_ages said...

These two releases were actually announced over here in the UK prior to the reunion show announcement. It was these that made the show seem somehow a little more likely.

All very well timed though to ensure that even with the concert money going to the Ahmet cause, the hard up lads in the band make a few quid too :-)

10:11 AM  
Blogger taotechuck said...

I get sad when you don't post for a day. I have no channel for my abundant snarkiness. Sure, I could say something mean about The Song Remains the Same, but that's like making fun of a retarted kid.

9:31 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home